A (By No Means Exhaustive) List of Things I’m Thankful For

holly

So today I composed a blog about baby poop…then it occurred to me that this being Christmas Eve, maybe that wasn’t really in the spirit of the season. So instead of baby poop I’m going to take a moment to give thanks. Here is a (by no means exhaustive) list of things I’m thankful for:

I’m thankful for my husband, D. We spent the last hour in the kitchen, alternating who got to choose the next song to listen to on Spotify. We have so many songs. We get each other.

I’m thankful for the babies.

I’m thankful for my family.

I’m thankful for city parks. Today I took a walk through Sunset Park to Green-wood Cemetery, and the few moments I spent there, watching the wind blow across the lake, grounded me.

I’m thankful for art, for poetry, for great writing, for music. I’m thankful I can share the art with people I love.

I could go on. I’m thankful for this cozy house, all these things around me, the little Christmas tree, the cards from family and friends on the mantel, the paintings on the walls from family members. I’m thankful for my friends.

Now that I’ve made this list, I’m feeling pretty lucky. I’ll save the poop post for another day. Merry Christmas.

And also, if you feel like it in the comments, what are you thankful for? It feels good to think about.

4 thoughts on “A (By No Means Exhaustive) List of Things I’m Thankful For

  1. So many things, but off the top of my head . . . time spent making paper chains for our tree, snuggles with my son, the prospect of a little one on the way. I am missing my siblings like mad, but there is much to be thankful for even physically distant or them.

    Merry Christmas!

    • I know what you mean. I miss my siblings, too! It’s hard to be away from family on the holidays. But congratulations to you, and merry Christmas! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Thankful for my sisters! And their entertaining blogging!

    And for my health. And for lazy mornings and for vacation. And for nieces and nephews and new adventures and seeing things through their eyes. For good design. For food and the ability to buy, cook and eat it! For friends and family who are my beer friends. For good movies and books and all the cultural production of the world. For sunsets and natural places. For freedom and independence. I could keep going but I’m already feeling good!

Leave a Reply

